What are words for?

words

So y’all might have noticed by now (or not) that I am comfortable with some words more than others.  Through this blog, I have become more comfortable with some words rhyming with switch and lass (starting with ‘b’ and ‘a’, respectively) but not so much with words rhyming with truck and lit (starting with ‘f’ and ‘sh’, respectively).  And I’m not like those holier-than-thou types who is adamantly opposed to the latter two words and never used them in her entire life.  In fact, I used those words this morning on the Kennedy as I was cut off by this mother-f…lower sender.  (Yes, sending his mother flowers makes it totally okay for him to make me slam on the breaks  and cause a pile-up accident during the middle of morning rush hour traffic.  That is totally what I mean here).  But I dunno … saying and actually writing those words just are different, for me at least.  I guess it must be because writing just appears (well, it is) more permanent and I guess I’m not comfortable and don’t know if I’ll ever be comfortable with leaving any such mark.  Also, I don’t know if it would be wise to use such words in any case if I still would like to target a young adult audience.   Never mind that many kids these days probably know words that I don’t even know.   Finally, I like to think of not using those words as sort of a challenge in my writing, to see if I can spice things up without using them.  (You:  Challenge is failing.  Start using those words.  Me: Oh, go send some more flowers to your mother!)   But again, I’m not judging anyone who does use those words, whether in writing or speaking.  In fact, I kinda admire their boldness.  Like with this one co-worker who’s in the office close to mine.  Let’s just call her Lil Miss Sunshine.  Now, Lil Miss Sunshine is just what her name implies.  We all had such a co-worker at one time or another, I’m sure.  You know, the one that tells you to turn that frown upside-down and never, ever, ever complains and you just know you need your insulin shot now for your diabetes that has just developed since the five minutes you’ve spent talking to her.  Well, one day, Lil Miss Sunshine must have gotten a call from an investigator who needed the results for their ICSMH 2014 abstract like, that second, because I heard her through her closed door say, “Those ********!  They tell me this now??”  And ******** just happened to be something that begins with ‘f’ and rhymes with Smuckers.  Needless to say, yes, I did develop a newfound respect for Lil Miss Sunshine as of that moment.

2 thoughts on “What are words for?

  1. Write it like you see it. As George Vaillant once famously said, “It is not stress that kills us. It is effective adaptation to stress that allows us to live.” Adapt effectively with words.

Leave a Reply

