Bad reviews

laptop-screen-punch

Now you may close your eyes just reading the title of this post, not even wanting to fathom what I would do to one of the bloggers who gave me a 1- or 2-star review.  But surprisingly, I don’t want to do anything to them other than thank them.  Yes, I like my 4- and 5-star and even 3-star reviews.  I like them very much indeed.  But the reviewers who think my work  sucks?  Yeah, in re-reading some parts, my book does suck.  I’m calling a spade a spade here at the risk of hurting my (non-existant) book sales.  Even my good friends Erika and Lynn pointed out some sucky parts to me and I admitted, “Yeah, those are pretty sucky.”  That is why I’ve just rewritten my first book a third time,  hopefully making all the crappy parts less crappy.  I’ve also been working on giving the characters more depth in the sequel and “showing” instead of “telling” the reader what they feel, the root of most of the criticism I’ve gotten.

And even the 1- and 2-star reviews had some nice things to say about the book.  There was only 1-star reviewer who was downright mean and did not say one good thing about the book.  Not one thing.  Like I  seriously do not know what her problem  is.  Like I must have run over her puppy or kitten in another dimension or something.   Like that was another realm, girl, not this one, so just chill.  Seriously what is your problem with me??? But that’s all right.  I used her first name for a character in the sequel.  A character who does something that doesn’t make the villain too happy.  And what he does to her is not too pretty.  So I no longer wish to do her bodily harm IRL as I got it out of my system.  Almost.

Leave a Reply

